God’s discipline gives rest?

by Rev Jason Phua

Readings: Luke 22:35-53; Psalm 94:1-23

READ (Verses chosen for meditation)
Psalm 94:12-13: “Blessed is the man whom you discipline, O LORD, and whom you teach out of your law, to give him rest from days of trouble, until a pit is dug for the wicked”

REFLECT
Generally speaking, no one likes discipline. Not many people will also feel that discipline is a kind of “rest”. Yet, the Psalmist believed that God’s discipline and teachings will grant a person “rest from days of trouble”. In this Psalm, the word “rest” is translated from the Hebrew word “shaqat” which could also mean “to be quiet” or “undisturbed”. The idea is that through God’s discipline and teachings; a person is able to grow in peace and trust in Him. Such demonstration of shalom and faith is even possible during times of affliction and persecution. This is because through God’s discipline, we would be able to gain insight into our wicked self and see the heart of God for us. With this, we can learn more and more to place our trust in Him for our troubles. The point of God’s discipline therefore arises from love and ends with peace and faith in Him.

RELATE
Many years ago, I suffered a major injustice. At that point in time, I wanted to take justice into my own hands. Yet, the Lord intervened and chastised me to find peace in Him. I remember His very words to me as I prayed: “I will vindicate”. Indeed, a few years after the incident, the Lord vindicated me and restored many times more of the things I have lost through that period of injustice. This incident has taught me a big lesson: that even during times of troubles and persecution; never forget to seek the Lord. This is because He is the Lord Almighty. He will guide us towards His peace and righteousness according to His ways and in His time.

REST
Teach me dear Lord to receive your discipline with humility and peace; knowing that you are our Abba Father. Help me to understand that when you discipline; you are doing it out of love for me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

