True Harmony

by Rev Jason Phua

Bible Reading: Romans 15:1-22; Psalm 25:1-15

READ (Verses chosen for reflection)
Romans 15:5-6 “May the God of endurance and encouragement grant you to live in such harmony with one another, in accord with Christ Jesus, that together you may with one voice glorify the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ.”

REFLECT
“Harmony” is a beautiful word. It speaks of people coming together in agreement and order. It speaks of people playing different roles and yet working towards similar objectives. However, there are times when the word or idea of “harmony” is misused to fulfil personal needs; or when we find it troublesome to confront the truth. This is especially so when “harmony” is rooted in our own flesh; rather than what is suggested in Romans 15:5 to be “in accord with Christ Jesus”. The Apostle Paul was not suggesting that the people of God must agree with one another at the expense of biblical truth. Rather, he was suggesting that we find “harmony” with one another according to the Person and teachings of Jesus Christ.

RELATE
There was a time when I was asked to forgo the seeking of truth with a fellow brother in Christ for the sake of “harmony”. I thought on it and found that indeed, it was so much easier to seek “harmony” than to confront. Yet, when I thought of the reality that my Lord Jesus Christ would die on the Cross in order to provide me with the truth; how then can I forsake the truth in order to preserve my own skin? Would I also prefer that someone tell me the truth (no matter how painful) rather than hide it for the sake of “harmony”? In the end, I chose to confront my fellow brother in Christ for the truth in love. It was a painful process but the end result was that transformation took place. True harmony does not forsake the teachings of Christ; anything other than that are tempting whispers from the evil one.

REST
Lord God, may you give us the courage and love to seek harmony according to the ways of Christ. This is so that the Body of Christ can be truly united with one voice to glorify God. Amen.