Beholding the glory of God

by Rev Jason Phua

Bible Readings: 2 Corinthians 3:1-18; Psalm 43:1-5

READ (Verses chosen for reflection)
Verse chosen for reflection: 2 Corinthians 3:18 “And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit”

REFLECT
How privilege we are to be able to behold the glory of God with unveiled faces! During the time of Moses, such an act would be inconceivable. As said in 2 Corinthians verse 13 as well as Exodus 34, Moses had to veil his face because it was “frightening” to the people. The people were frightened because it seemed unnatural and hence something they could not understand.  Even then, not everyone was able to have the privilege of meeting with God in a direct conversation.

However, due to the work of Christ on the cross, all of us who believe understood that we can now have access to the Father. We can now enjoy an intimate relationship with the Creator Himself. Unlike Moses, whose glory from his meeting with God faded through time, the glory given to us in Christ will not fade. For those who continue to behold God in His glory shall be transformed into the image from one degree of glory to another.

RELATE
How have I been appreciating such a privilege of being able to behold God’s glory with unveiled faces? I must confess that there are times when I had taken such a privilege for granted. Instead of cherishing the moments where I can speak with my Father in heaven over issues that trouble me, I chose to use my own strength to meet such issues. Instead of enjoying the time I can have with my Lord during devotional, I have allowed my mind to be distracted by work and cares of the world.

REST
May the Lord help me to be in remembrance of how I can behold His glory with unveiled faces. This is so I can continue to grow in the image of the living God. Amen.

