How God respond

by Rev Jason Phua

Bible Readings: Job 37:1-39:30; Proverbs 22:13

READ (Verses chosen for reflection)
Verse chosen for reflection: Job 38:4 “Where were you when I laid the foundation of the earth?”

REFLECT
For all that was suffered by Job and spoken by his friends, the Almighty appeared and gave a seemingly unsatisfactory response to Job through chapters 38:4-39:30. What did God’s speech about His power and creativity seeks to accomplish?

At this point of the book, we might expect God to tell Job about the very beginning when He had that wager with Satan; or at the very least, shouldn’t God comfort Job and restore him immediately? Some of us might even have the idea that God should apologise to Job for allowing him to suffer as a “blameless and upright” (cf: Job 1) man.

Yet, the Creator did not answer Job his many questions; at least not directly. The response that God had for Job painted a beautiful picture of His mighty creation for which Job was invited to be a part of. From the impending doom of Job’s sufferings, he was suddenly spoken to by the One who gives life. From the darkest possible situation of deaths and failures; God once again brought Job into His universe of life and creation. Yet, before Job was to be restored; he and his friends must first learn the truth about their place before the Creator.

RELATE
There are times when I sought responses from the Lord; thinking that He will answer me in a certain manner. During those times, I forgot that He is the Almighty and so has the right to respond in whatever way He wants. I forgot that He knows what I am thinking even before I know what I am thinking. I forgot that His will is perfect while mine is often a composite of limited knowledge and selfish desires. In my forgetfulness of where I stand in His vast universe, I will miss and even misunderstand His response to my prayers. In my pride, I will even imagine responses that did not come from God. Only when I surrender “all”, would I hear clearly the heartbeat of God and what He is really saying to me.

REST
Lord Almighty, you are sovereign upon all that you have created. Have mercy on me and teach me Your ways. Help me to know Your will and follow. Amen.