Complete Waste of Time?

by Rev Sng Chong Hui

A Churchgoer once wrote a letter to the editor of a newspaper and complained that it made no sense going to church every Sunday.

This is what he wrote:

“I’ve been attending church for 30 years now. In that time I have heard something like 3,000 sermons. But for the life of me, I can’t remember a single one of the sermons. So I think I’m wasting my time and the preachers giving sermons are also wasting theirs.”

That started a real controversy in the “Letters to the Editor” column. It invited continuous stream of comments, debate and arguments.

Much to the delight of the editor, it went on for weeks until someone wrote this clincher:

“I’ve been married for 30 years now. In that time my wife has cooked some 32,000 meals. But for the life of me, I cannot recall the entire menu for any single one of those meals. But I do know this: They all nourished me and gave me the strength I needed to do my work. If my wife had not given me these meals, I would be physically dead today. Likewise, if I had not gone to church for nourishment, I would be spiritually dead today!”

Going to church week after week is never a complete waste of time. In fact it may well be our spiritual nourishment, sustenance and formation for time spent with God is never wasted.

Perhaps it’s just why God has incorporated it into the Ten Commandments.

“Remember the day of worship by observing it as a holy day” (Exodus 20:8 NOG)

So the writer of Hebrews exhorts.

“Let us not neglect our church meetings, as some people do, but encourage and warn each other, especially now that the day of his coming back again is drawing near” (Hebrews 10:25 TLB).

Leave a Reply

