Fruit of our deeds

by Rev Jason Phua

Bible Readings: Isaiah 3:1-5:30; Proverbs 22:28-29

READ (Verses chosen for reflection)
Isaiah 3:10-11 “Tell the righteous that it shall be well with them, for they shall eat the fruit of their deeds. Woe to the wicked! It shall be ill with him, for what his hands have dealt out shall be done to him.”

REFLECT
I can only imagine, that when the righteous heard of Isaiah 3:10-11, they must be so encouraged and perhaps even relieved. However, the wicked could have trembled when the message was delivered to their ears.

We can say a thousand things with our mouths and portray ourselves as the most noble person on earth; but the Lord knows what we are truly thinking and what we have done in secret. Some may be able to fool the world or even the most discerning of saints; but we cannot fool ourselves and definitely not God Almighty. Even as the Lord is full of grace; He is also full of truth and will put us in our place if that is necessary to mould us to be more like His Son.

RELATE
These two verses reminded me that in ministry and in life, i must guard my heart in the Lord to be pure and of good conscience. However, I cannot do this just out of fear for the Lord’s punishment. If that is the case, then I will find no joy in His calling for me to minister. Rather, the fear of the Lord must be the beginning of wisdom. The fear of the Lord must be my strength. Then I will learn more about serving God in His love. Then I will learn to enjoy the fruit of good labour which can only come through the grace and peace of being in Christ Jesus.

REST
Lord, for whatever challenges may come, may you help me not to despair or even become hardened in heart. Rather, help me to be strengthened in You and serve with a pure heart, good conscience and sincere faith. Amen.

