Day 9

by Rev Joel Yong

Genesis 45:4-8 ESV
So Joseph said to his brothers, Come near to me, please. And they came near. And he said, I am your brother, Joseph, whom you sold into Egypt. And now do not be distressed or angry with yourselves because you sold me here, for God sent me before you to preserve life. For the famine has been in the land these two years, and there are yet five years in which there will be neither plowing nor harvest. And God sent me before you to preserve for you a remnant on earth, and to keep alive for you many survivors.
So it was not you who sent me here, but God. He has made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house and ruler over all the land of Egypt.

I find it amazing that he actually thinks his brothers spent some time distressed and angry with themselves after selling him off into slavery.

He actually gives them the benefit of the doubt that they would eventually be sorry for what they had done.

I wonder what ran through his mind- in all those years spent in slavery and then in prison, falsely accused by Potiphar’s wife.

It sounds here – as if he thought “I am sure when my brothers sold me into slavery that they didn’t expect it to be so bad for me in the end!”

He thought positive thoughts about his aggressors rather than negative ones!!
I wonder if this made a difference and turned his perspective of his life journey from one that could have been filled with blame and hatred, into one that saw the hand of God working in his life as he navigated his way through life’s valleys.

Henry Cloud and John Townsend wrote -“No one can make you happy or angry. You can either choose to be angry when someone makes their comment or you can choose to let it pass. Your emotions are a choice you make.”

I think that is how it was with Joseph.
Such that he could indeed say-“So it was not you who sent me here, but God. He has made me a father to Pharaoh, and lord of all his house and ruler over all the land of Egypt. “

Leave a Reply

