Day 62

by Rev Joel Yong

Judges 12:1-3
The men of Ephraim were summoned to fight. They crossed the Jordan River to Zaphon. They said to Jephthah, “Why did you fight against Ammon without inviting us to go with you? Now we’re going to burn your house down with you in it.” Jephthah answered, “My people and I were involved in a legal dispute with Ammon. I asked you for help, but you didn’t rescue me from them. When I saw that you would not rescue me, I risked my life and went to fight the people of Ammon. The LORD handed them over to me. So why did you come to fight against me today?”

The Ephraimites came to find fault with Jephthah.
They accused him of not letting them share in the glory of the victory by not inviting them to fight in the army earlier.

Jephthah’s response shows he had asked them but they did not want to help! They purposely disappeared when help was needed and showed up only when the crisis was past!

There will always be such troublemakers … who do not lend a hand to help us when we are in need. But when they want to take something from us, they are more than ready to fight and quarrel with us for it.

Ever faced such people in your life?

Here is what happened in the end-

Judges 12:4
Then Jephthah gathered all the men of Gilead and fought Ephraim. The men of Gilead defeated Ephraim. They did this because Ephraim had said, “You people from Gilead are nothing but fugitives from Ephraim and Manasseh.”

They had thought they could bully Jephthah but he wasn’t to be trampled upon. God was on his side.
He fought back and defeated the bullies.

May we all look to God when we are faced with such bullies.
He is our strength and righteousness- even in the face of false accusations.

