Day 68

by Rev Joel Yong

Ruth 1:20-21
She answered them, “Don’t call me Naomi Sweet. Call me Mara Bitter because the Almighty has made my life very bitter. I went away full, but the LORD has brought me back empty. Why do you call me Naomi when the LORD has tormented me and the Almighty has done evil to me?”

Often when people experience trouble in life- they blame it on God.
But as believers – we know that such a response borders on presumption that we know what is best rather than God and is foolishness rather than faith.

It is precisely why when Job’s wife urged him to curse God amidst his suffering, Job rebuked her instead.

Job 2:9-10
His wife asked him, “Are you still holding on to your principles? Curse God and die!” He said to her, “You’re talking like a godless fool. We accept the good that God gives us. Shouldn’t we also accept the bad?” Through all this Job’s lips did not utter one sinful word.

If we do not wish to fall into the trap of blaming God each time we feel down in the dumps- then perhaps the solution is to decide beforehand, what our approach is, regarding pain & disappointment in life.

My personal approach is this:

  1. I recognize God’s sovereignty in my life and regardless of how people hurt me or when mishap befalls – I remember that its part and parcel of an imperfect sinful world we live in.
  2. I remember that God is good and He promised a day when paradise would envelope this world and this broken world will be no more along with all its evil.
  3. And I seek God still in my pain, believing that soon and very soon He will come and this broken body, this broken world will end. I pray for strength to last and faith that endures until all my days are through.

Revelation of John 14:12
In this situation God’s holy people, who obey his commands and keep their faith in Jesus, need endurance.

