Calling and obedience

by Rev Jason Phua

Bible Readings: Ezekiel 33:31-34:31; Proverbs 27:21-22

READ (Verse chosen for reflection)
Ezekiel 33:8 “If I say to the wicked, O wicked one, you shall surely die, and you do not speak to warn the wicked to turn from his way, that wicked person shall die in his iniquity, but his blood I will require at your hand.”

REFLECT
Ezekiel was called to be God’s mouthpiece to declare His message of warning and repentance to the people of Israel. If Ezekiel heard the word of God and declare it to the people; and even if the people did not turn from their wicked ways, the prophet will be saved. If Ezekiel heard the word of God but failed to declare it to the people; and if the people did not turn from their wicked ways and perish, then the prophet will have to bear the consequences. It was a difficult assignment. Yet God’s calling of His workers is always purposeful and His will is not to be denied.

RELATE
This passage reminded me of my own calling from the Lord to be a minister of His Word and Sacrament. Have I fully obeyed God’s call to speak into the life of His people each and every time? No, I have not. Yet by His mercies, Christ’s work on the cross atoned for these times when I have failed to be faithful. However, I cannot take God’s grace in Jesus Christ for granted. Because of His grace and truth, I must grow in obedience and faithfulness for God’s call for my life as a pastor. Even if He has called me to do and say things which might not be popular or even offensive to some; i must obey in faith. I must trust in God’s heart for His people.

REST
Lord God, help me to be the minister that You have called me to be. Your call is purposeful and no laughing matter. Help me to treat it with sanctity and grow to be the person You want me to be. Amen.

Leave a Reply

